An Embarrassing Amends…

When I began writing the Daily Reader for Compulsive Debtors and Spenders in November of 2014, I researched to see if there were any other daily readers out there for compulsive debtors and spenders. I knew Debtors Anonymous hadn’t produced one, but the only one I found was Letting Go of Debt: Growing Richer One Day at a Time. It was written by the wife of a compulsive gambler.

While this book would be helpful for compulsive debtors and spenders, I believed that there was a need for such a book written by a compulsive debtor and spender in recovery. So I thought I could be helpful by sharing my experience, strength, and hope in this format.

I originally thought I’d be finished writing the book by the end of 2014, but my health issues precluded that. I kept my head down and just moved forward through the winter and into the spring, determined to get the book done as quickly as I could without sacrificing my health or the content.

The book was finished in April, 2015, and it seemed a great marketing point to say that this was the first daily reader written by a compulsive debtor in recovery.

And so I did.

But I was wrong.

Just this morning, I decided that I wanted to put a link to Letting Go of Debt: Growing Richer One Day at a Time in my other resources.

In searching for it in Amazon, up popped another book, one I had never seen:

Forgive Us Our Debts, Please! 365 Humorous Daily Meditations for Debtors, Compulsive Spenders and Underearners

Misti B. is most definitely a recovering debtor and underearner and she has unequivocally written a daily reader for compulsive debtors and spenders. And it was published in January 2015, months before my own book was published.

I was horrified at my mistake.

Were I Misti, I’d be really, really angry at the unmitigated gall and dishonesty of someone who says they are working a recovery program.

But the fact is, I didn’t know about this book. Nor did any of my friends in recovery. And in fact, for some odd reason, her book is not easily found when searching the topic in Amazon.

Now that I do know, here are the steps I have taken to make things right:

1. I removed all references to the book being the first written by a compulsive debtor and spender from any website that sells the book, and from the sales page on this blog.
2. The back cover of the book is being re-written to change the headline.
3. I changed a press release I previously sent out online.
4. Both other books are now included in my list of resources.

Unfortunately, there may still be some old text out there referencing that incorrect statement that this is the first book of its kind written by a recovering debtor.

If you do see such language, please let me know so I can fix it (see contact form below).

As for a direct amends to Misti, I am going to write her through the Contact form on her website, MistiBWrites.com.

And, by the way,
Forgive Us Our Debts, Please! 365 Humorous Daily Meditations for Debtors, Compulsive Spenders and Underearners
looks excellent. Misti chose to write from her own experience, which is quite refreshing, and she is quite clever.

We can’t possibly have too many daily readers! Now, there are three, and hopefully, more to come.

Book Corrections

Please email me the link where you saw text saying that my book is the first written by a compulsive debtor.

Leave a Reply

