Comfort is Overrated

The desire to be comfortable gets me into trouble. I had to shift my thinking about this in order to stay abstinent with my spending. Abstinence and making the right choice are often not comfortable.

I remember many years ago in another fellowship, I was getting more and more restless, irritable, and discontented because I was suffering about something or other and no matter how hard and how much I prayed for comfort and relief, I was still miserable and the situation was still present.

Yes, there is the serenity prayer (“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference”), but wisdom and serenity weren’t cutting it.

I had a lovely sponsor at the time who, sadly, had many severe health issues. So when I told her I was praying and praying for relief to no avail, she gently told me that I was praying for the wrong thing.

Instead of praying for relief, the prayer should go something like this: God, grant me the strength to bear the discomfort until comfort comes.

And my whole world shifted.

I don’t always remember it first, so I spend too much time miserable. But when I do, and when I say this prayer, I find that I am much comforted by knowing that I have not been given more than I can bear.

One thought on “Comfort is Overrated

Leave a Reply

